History of the Astrological Association

Foundation chart The AA was formed at 7.22 pm GMT on 21 June 1958 in London. The two most prominent members were John Addey, who originated the theory of harmonics, and Roy Firebrace, the sidereal astrologer and founder of the magazine, Spica.

Click here to read more about the founding of the Astrological Association


One highlight of the AA's annual conference is the presentation of the Charles Harvey Award, named after the AA’s former President and awarded annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to astrology.

Click here for more information and list of recipients

Charles Carter The presentation of the Award is always followed by the annual Carter Memorial Lecture. The first Carter Memorial Lecture was given by Ronald C Davidson at the Astrological Lodge on 5th October 1970. It was entitled "Astrology & Man"

Click here for a list of Carter memorial Lectures